The Stages Of Dementia

The Stages Of Dementia

Common Stages Of Dementia

Dementia is thought of as a memory disorder, an illness of the ageing mind.
Experts in the field say dementia is more accurately defined as fatal brain failure: a terminal disease, like that of cancer, which will eventually take one’s life.

Physical symptoms you may observe as patient is nearing end-of-life:

Moderate Cognitive Decline - Stage 4
Moderately Severe Cognitive Decline - Stage 5
Severe Cognitive Decline (Mid Dementia) - Stage 6
Very Severe Cognitive Decline (Late Dementia) - Stage 7

Beside that people live eight to ten years from the time first symptoms emerge.
More importantly, life expectancy however, can vary considerably depending on how old a person is when symptoms begin. Therefore a person diagnosed in their 60's will live longer than someone diagnosed in their late 80’s or 90's.

  • Coolness. Hands, arms, feet, and legs may be increasingly cool to the touch. ...
  • Decrease in fluid and food intake
  • Confusion and restlessness
  • Longer sleep patterns.
  • severe personality changes, such as aggressiveness
  • Incontinence
  • Congestion
  • Urine decrease

Being aware of how dementia progresses is a vital part of understanding the condition.

Please let me know your thoughts in the comments box below.

Happy Caring, Margot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.